Since 2015, the HCV has been pleased to sponsor the Years 9 and 10 category of the Historical Fiction Competition organised by the History Teachers' Association of Victoria. 

In 2020, the HCV inaugurated the Jane Hansen Prize for History Advocacy.

In 2021, the HCV inaugurated the Lynette Russell Prize for First Peoples' History in Schools.